Mom’s Sourdough Waffles (or Pancakes)

When I was a child my mom would make sourdough waffles most weekends. They were always light and airy, soft on the inside, but with a good golden crust, and perfect with some maple syrup and butter. She started her sourdough starter before I can remember, carefully maintaining it for many years. It was an integral part of her kitchen and our family’s weekly bread. It was and still is (Mom is still quite the baker) a unique starter, fed with milk and white flour instead of water. It has a pleasantly tangy flavor and is perfect for sourdough waffles. My own starter now is the child of my mom’s. I took a bit from hers a few years back and made it my own, feeding it with water instead of milk and coaxing from it many loaves of bread. I like it this way. A bit of Mom’s love and care is in each of my loaves.

Mom sent me the recipe for sourdough waffles this past week and I have eagerly been anticipating this weekend when I would have time to do a proper pancake breakfast. I made pancakes and not waffles simply for the lack of a waffle grill. I do have a good cast iron skillet though, perfect for pancakes. It was put it to good use this morning. The recipe that follows is versatile, perfect for either sort of breakfast treat you want. Feel free to experiment with the flours too, using whatever you have on hand. With a bit of jam or maple syrup, these pancakes are absolutely delicious … light, fluffy, and just slightly tangy. Thanks, Mom!

Mom's Sourdough Pancakes

Mom’s Sourdough Waffles (or Pancakes)

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sourdough starter, at room temperature
2 cups warm buttermilk (about 100 degrees)
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

In a large bowl, combine whole wheat flour, all purpose flour, starter, and buttermilk. Mix well. Cover and let stand at room temperature for about 45 minutes (or covered and refrigerated overnight).

Beat together eggs, milk, honey, and oil. Add to flour mixture and stir until blended. Combine baking soda and salt. Stir into batter, then let stand for 5 minutes.

For pancakes, drop batter by spoonfuls onto a moderately hot greased griddle. Cook until tops are bubbly and appear browned. Flip and cook through. Makes about 2 dozen 4-inch pancakes.

For waffles, bake in a pre-heated electric waffle iron, however you usually do. The waffles should be richly browned. Serve immediately. Or let cool on racks, package airtight and freeze. You can reheat the frozen waffles in a toaster or warm oven later. Makes twelve 4-inch square waffles.

3 Responses to “Mom’s Sourdough Waffles (or Pancakes)”

  1. I like the black and white photo. Classy.

    My kids love sourdough pancakes (easier and quicker than waffles)—we call them Farmer Boy Pancakes—even more than our other standby, Buttermilk Pancakes. The tang is addictive.

  2. lailablogs Says:

    Sounds delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com

  3. We make regular waffles often, and I never thought of using my starter, I will have to give it a try. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a comment