Rice Bread

Growing up I always remember a pot of rice on the stove. My mom, being half Japanese, made sure of this. Rice was an essential part of her childhood and she bestowed that appreciation for the tender grain in my sisters and me. The first thing I remember how to cook was rice. No fancy rice cookers were involved, simply a pot, some water, and rice. There is a very specific way to cook rice, according to my mom. To master that skill was the first step of initiation into our home kitchen.

First, place the rice in the pot and rinse it a couple of times with fresh batches of water. Next fill up the pot with water so that the rice is covered by an amount of water equal to the length between the tip of your finger and the midpoint between the two most distal knuckles. My little sister had a line, or wrinkle, if you will, there. This, my mom sagely averred, was her “rice line,” a useful physical trait for the task at hand. With the rice covered, place the pot without a lid on the stove and bring the water to a boil. Then, turn the heat down to low, cover the pot, and let the rice simmer until all the water is absorbed, but not any longer! (We always knew when my little sister made the rice because the bottom was burnt.)

And that’s it. That is how we made rice at home. So, with four rice-cooking women in the household, there was continually a pot of rice on the stove. Some days it was freshly cooked. Other times it was a day or two old. When it became too dried out to eat enjoyably my mom would come to the rescue with a delicious mid-week meal of fried rice, reusing the old rice and satisfying the hungry bellies of her family. I always enjoyed old rice, rehydrated and warmed by pouring green tea or hot milk over it. I wondered recently, though, what else could you do with this old rice? Naturally, my mind turned to bread.

The following recipe is adapted from one in Dan Lepard’s The Art of Handmade Bread. I was skeptical at first due to the equal parts rice to flour, but was truly pleased with the result. Using King Arthur’s bread flour (a flour with a very high gluten content) yielded a loaf with integrity and good structure. Furthermore, this recipe is excessively simple and fairly mess free. True, the dough is sticky and wet, but you knead it for a total of only about a minute. I was amazed by Lepard’s technique of kneading for 10 seconds, letting the dough rest for 10 minutes, and then repeating the process several times. It works beautifully for this dough! Also, this is relatively quick dough to prepare and bake if old rice is readily on hand.

Besides the merits of working with this dough, the bread is hands-down delicious. It is slightly sweet, encased in a crunchy golden crust, perfectly toothsome, and has a luxuriously creamy crumb. Sliced, it serves as a good option for sandwiches or toast. Indeed, when warmed and topped with a bit of butter and blackberry jam, this bread makes a breakfast fit for any rice-loving woman

A cirspy, golden crust…

Rice Bread

Yield: ~975 g (1 9×5-inch loaf pan)

Ingredients:
275 g tender cooked rice (white, brown, long or short grain, any kind will do…)
275 g milk
3 g instant yeast
35 g honey
375 g bread flour
10 g salt

Thoroughly combine the rice, milk, and honey in a bowl. In another bowl, combine the flour, yeast, and salt. Pour the liquid mixture into the flour mixture and stir until you obtain an evenly combined, soft and sticky dough. Cover the dough and leave for 10 minutes.

Knead the dough on a work surface (oiled, if desired) for 10 seconds. Clean, dry, and oil the bowl. Return the dough to the bowl and leave for another 10 minutes. Knead the dough on a work surface once more for 10 seconds. Shape into a smooth, round ball. Place it back in the bowl, cover, and leave for 1 hour at room temperature.

Butter and flour a 9×5-inch baking pan. Shape the dough into a baton and place it seam-side-down in the pan. (The dough will be sticky and wet so oiling your work surface before shaping would be helpful). Leave the loaf at room temperature for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 410 °F. Bake the loaf for 25 minutes, then reduce the heat to 375 °F and bake for another 20 minutes. Remove from the pan and allow to cool on a wire rack before slicing into.

6 Responses to “Rice Bread”

  1. I can see that the crumb is creamy! Rice is essential for me too, I am eager to give it a try!

  2. I am actually working on a whole grain version of this using brown rice and 100% whole wheat. Glad to know that it tastes great.
    Great minds think alike :)

  3. cbucholz Says:

    Natalie – Rice is such a comfort food for me! Couldn’t live without it. Glad to hear from you and to have found your site. Looking forward to reading through your posts.

    Jude- Sounds delicious. For this recipe I actually used brown rice and regular white bread flour. I was surprised at how white the bread turned out (I guess all the milk contributed to that too). Let me know how the whole wheat version turns out. I would love to try it sometime!

  4. how intriguing! I would have never thought to add rice to bread

    The only breads I’ve mastered are quick breads and the NYTimes No-Knead bread… I’m willing to give ‘regular’ bread another shot though — with age I’ve gained more patience for kneading (my lack of patience for this is probably what ruined the breads I’ve made in the past…)

  5. I love this post! I want to learn how to make good-fried rice, and I think this post will help! ( I enjoyed a lot your story about it with your mom and sis ). Everyday I feel I like rice more and more, kinda strange. I usually eat brown rice but I also feel the need to eat white rice. I´m eager to try your recipe and the technique!! So eager to bake bread with cooked rice!

  6. Sara- I’m the same way! I usually eat brown rice, but my mom raised me on steaming pots of sticky white rice. I do get a genuine hankering for white rice every now and then. Feel free to use white or brown rice for this recipe. I used brown, but the crumb still turned out soft and white. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

